Response Scientific Inc. is made up of a team of leading scientists, including physicians, medical biochemists and biomedical engineers.

Emmanuel C Opara, Ph.D.

Professor, Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Professor & Director of Graduate Studies
Virginia Tech-Wake Forest School of Biomedical Engineering
Wake Forest School of Medicine
Medical Center Boulevard
Winston-Salem, North Carolina 17157

Emmanuel C. Opara, PhD is considered a worldwide authority on the cellular transplantation of living cells. He has developed procedures and devices to realize the clinical potential of hydrogel encapsulated living cells, as well as prescription and non-prescription drugs. Areas of investigation include biomaterials for cell microencapsulation, massively parallel concepts in cell microencapsulation, rapid tests of islet cell function, and use of modified alginate hydrogels as protective materials.

Melur K. “Ram” Ramasubramanian, Ph.D.

Melur K. “Ram” Ramasubramanian, Ph.D.

Professor and Vice President for Research
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA

Melur K. Ramasubramanian, PhD is the immediate past program director for the Engineering Research Centers program at the National Science Foundation and D.W. Reynolds Distinguished Professor and department chair of Mechanical Engineering at Clemson University, with a joint faculty appointment as professor of bioengineering.

Prior to arriving at Clemson, Ram was the lead program director for the IGERT program at the National Science Foundation. His research interests are strongly interdisciplinary to include mechanics of manufacturing processes, bio-manufacturing and tissue engineering including microfluidics, biomimetic materials and systems, mechatronics, and biomedical devices.

Mark E. Welker, Ph.D.

Mark E. Welker, Ph.D.

Professor and Chairman
Department of Chemistry
William L. Poteat Endowed Chair
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, NC 27109

Mark E. Welker, Ph.D., Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California-Berkeley.
Elected Fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) 2008.

Dreyfus Foundation – Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Awardee (1994-99).
Program Officer, Division of Chemistry, Organic and Macromolecular Chemistry Program, National Science Foundation.

Michael S. Tempesta, Ph.D.

Managing Partner & Founder
Phenolics, LLC
El Granada, California

University of Minnesota 1978 B.A. (Chemistry) University of Arizona 1981 M.S., PhD (Organic Chemistry) PhD Thesis: “Structural Elucidation of Antitumor Agents from Plants”

Professional Societies

American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Chemical Society, American Society of Pharmacognosy, International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, Phytochemical Society of Europe, Sigma Xi, Phytochemical Society of North America.

Professional Service

American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP) Awards and Funds Committee Member: 1989 to 1994
American Society of Pharmacognosy (ASP) Regional Executive Committee Member: 1998 to 2006
Associate Editor:  International Journal of Pharmacognosy (Formerly Int. J. Crude Drug Research), 1988 to 1995
Editorial Board Member: Phytomedicine 1995-97
Grant Proposal Reviewer:  National Science Foundation, National Cancer Institute (ad hoc panel member; special panel member), American Chemical Society-Petroleum Research Fund, PSC-CUNY Research Award Program, International Foundation for Science.
Journal Referee:  Canadian Journal of Chemistry, Journal of the American Chemical Society, International Journal of Pharmacognosy, Journal of Natural Products, Journal of Organic Chemistry.

Samuel Dagogo-Jack, MD

Samuel Dagogo-Jack, MD

University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Professor of Medicine
A.C. Mullins Professor in Translational Research
Chief of the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

Dr. Dagogo-Jack is a worldwide leader in the effort to fight diabetes and brings added insight and recognition to our company. Dr. Dagogo-Jack is the past president (2015) of the American Diabetes Association. He is an excellent teacher and mentor with great expertise and patience and an inspiration to people all over the world.

Michael S. Blaiss, MD

Michael S. Blaiss, MD

Clinical Professor of Pediatrics
Medical College of Georgia
Augusta, Georgia

Michael S. Blaiss is Clinical Professor of Pediatrics at the Medical College of Georgia in Augusta, Georgia. He received his medical degree from University of Tennessee Center for Health Sciences in Memphis. He was Chief Resident at University of Tennessee/Le Bonheur Children’s Medical Center in Memphis and completed a fellowship in allergy/immunology at Ochsner Medical Foundation in New Orleans, Louisiana.

He is past President of the American College of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology. He served as Treasurer of the American Board of Allergy and Clinical Immunology, a past member of the Board of Directors of the World Allergy Organization, and Past President of the Tennessee and Louisiana Societies of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology. At both Merck and Pfizer Consumer Health Care, he served in Medical Affairs roles related to allergy and respiratory.

Dr. Blaiss has published more than 100 scientific peer reviewed articles and presented at more than 500 meetings and seminars throughout the world. In addition, he has been a member of the editorial boards for the Annals of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology, World Allergy Organization Journal, Journal of Asthma, and Allergy and Asthma Proceedings, Hypersensitivity, and American Journal of Rhinology 11.5.